My Journey So Far…

Edit 2

Welcome to my second ever blog. I wrote my first blog two weeks ago after becoming a Communications Intern for United Welsh and as part of my internship, I have been given the task to promote the United Welsh Academy.

The academy is currently in its second year, offering apprenticeships and internships in a variety of departments.

To share news about the academy and what my fellow interns are up to, I’m going to write about their experiences of their first month in their new roles, but first I thought I’d begin with my story.

I’m Emma Thomas (second on the left), aged 22 from Neath. I’ve come from an educational background, completing a foundation degree in Art and Design before studying a BA Education Studies degree, with the University of Wales, Trinity Saint David.

With a background in art and academic writing developed through my BA, I thought my skill set would fit well with the communications sector.

Ian Duggan, HR Officer for United Welsh, took the lead in developing and implementing the United Welsh Academy.

He said: “Our main aim through the scheme is to help and support the next generation. As an organisation we think it’s important to do our share.

“The United Welsh Academy is beneficial to all who participate, with employees of United Welsh benefiting from gaining experience as a mentor in addition to the interns gaining invaluable knowledge about the world of work.”

Personally I really recommend doing an internship.

I’ve already done a variety of things I’ve never done before such as writing articles, event organisation, interviewing staff and tenants and social media campaigning for housing sector issues – all in the first month of my internship!

I’m also developing my own personal portfolio so I can keep a track record of my learning, helping me to be ‘interview-ready’ once my internship is over.

Already after a month I am feeling more confident and this is by far one of the best and most valuable opportunities I’ve had.

United Welsh has a really welcoming working environment – it’s comfortable, friendly and free. People actually seem happy to be at work which is something you don’t always imagine when you’re still in university!

This year’s United Welsh internships are running for six months between September and February and the apprenticeship is a year-long programme from September.

The academy was a remarkable success last year, with all the interns moving into a full-time job straight after their internship finished or just before.

For more information about the United Welsh Academy, call the HR team on 0800 294 0195 or email tellmemore@unitedwelsh.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.