“I can go out and help our tenants – it’s so fulfilling”

Adam working on IT equipment

Our new Digital Solutions Intern Adam Herrin has started his IT career with United Welsh after discovering our internship programme online.

30-year-old Adam has a history degree from the University of South Wales but after graduating, he found it difficult to find a job relating to his studies.

Adam said: “I didn’t want to be a teacher and I struggled to find other opportunities, so I decided to try something different.

“When I saw the United Welsh Academy advert, I jumped at the opportunity.”

After his degree, Adam went to Coleg Y Cymoedd and achieved a qualification in Information Technology. He has volunteered for different organisations but his internship with the United Welsh Academy is his first paid IT role.

The academy is currently in its second year, offering apprenticeships and internships in a variety of departments. It was launched to help students and graduates to take their ‘first step’ into the world of work, but has also helped people who would like to change career paths and want a taster of the sector they’re interested in.

Adam will learn about all aspects of IT during his six month placement, but at the moment he is enjoying helping tenants with IT issues, networking in some of our schemes and setting up laptops for the office.

An opportunity that has already arisen for Adam in his first month of being at United Welsh; a networking course funded by the Digital Solutions team.

Adam said: “The networking qualification will help me to stand out to other employers and will boost my confidence for future job prospects, so I’m really grateful for the support.

“After my internship I’ll know I’ll be in a much better position to secure an IT job – it’s given me the opportunity I needed to change careers.

“One thing I love about working for a housing association is that I can go out and actually help our tenants and communities – it’s so fulfilling.”

During his internship Adam has helped Digital Inclusion Officer Louise Shute to teach tenants digital skills such as getting online.

If you want to improve or learn some digital skills, call Louise on 0800 294 0195 or email louise.shute@unitedwelsh.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.